A friend of mine was recently laid off. She was with the firm from the beginning and hung on as it grew from ten to seventy employees. New management ran a campaign to push out the original regime. She was one of the last to go.

“My boss would give me great formal reviews and rave about my work, and then I would find out he was complaining about me behind my back and plotting to get me out,” she vented. “There should be a law against treating people like this.”

“The no jerk at work law? I’d be in favor of that.”

“Exactly.”

Until then, there’s always sitcoms. Bad managers have given me an entirely new appreciation for the value of sit-coms. How many nights have I said to husband, “Let’s just watch something funny. I want to forget. I need to detach.”

I try to remind myself everyone’s human – make room for grace. But sometimes it reaches a pitch that even a wide girth for grace isn’t wide enough, and I reach my limit. Bad managers have made me furious, instigated self-doubt, depleted my self-esteem, caused me to question the purpose in what I do, and so on.

But bad managers can also be the catalyst. They can deplete our ego and the ability to see straight on our journey to figuring out fulfillment. But bad managers can also be a motivating force to propel ourselves forward.