Whatever job I’m doing, I want to do a good job. This includes the summer job I had working in an accounts payable department, where I filed papers for eight hours every day. Protestant work ethic? Southern guilt? Who knows – that’s just the way I am.

But when I’m not challenged at work, I get bored. When I get bored, I start making silly mistakes and I have to remind myself to stay plugged in. I start drinking too much coffee. I start watching the clock. My eyes began to droop and I feel myself wrinkling my forehead to coax my eyes open.

Boring meetings are the worst. The internal dialogue begins: “I am so bored. I am so bored. I am so bored. Stay awake. Look engaged. Are you wrinkling your forehead again? If you don’t stop doing that you’re going to give yourself about twenty more wrinkles before this meeting is over. Pay attention, someone may ask you about this later. What are we even talking about? I would do anything for a cup of coffee. I am so bored. I am so bored. I am so bored. Is everyone else as bored as I am?”

Boredom makes hanging in there seem impossible. But hanging in there is imperative, because no matter what you’re doing, doing a good job is important, if for no one else but yourself.

What types of things do you do to stay engaged and plugged in? Anyone else giving themselves premature wrinkles? I know there are some fellow coffee addicts out there. I’ve seen you in Starbucks before that mid-afternoon meeting.