When I’m at work, I’m in go mode. I like to entertain the idea that I think like an efficiency expert. When I was a kid, I loved the book Cheaper by the Dozen. I remember the father of the family had figured out the fastest way to get dressed in the morning and how much time that would save. I was impressed. The importance of quality, of course, and taking time to build relationships with colleagues cannot be discounted, but I like to get things done.

Sometimes when I get home I have trouble finding the off switch. How quickly can dinner be made, consumed, and on to the next thing? Checking personal email, following up about such and such, getting a birthday card ready to stick in the mail, checking my blog stats (if you like what you’ve read so far, please refer to your friends) etc. I oscillate between thinking I will be more productive if I give myself some time to relax and feeling guilty for doing it.

“I know it’s hard to transition out of work mode,” I recently told my husband on a Saturday morning as he rushed from one thing to another, “but sometimes you’ve got to allow yourself some space before the next thing on the list.” It’s always easier to give advice than to take it. And with one of our fur family members lounging next to me on the couch with one eye open, I said, “You’ve got to give yourself some time to kiss the cat, because at the end of it all, it’s those moments that will be your greatest joy and those moments you will most remember.”