I recently moved apartments. I was looking forward to the move – a new neighborhood to explore, a bigger apartment. The move reminded me of a quiz in the magazine New York Time Out a few years ago, meant to help readers determine if they were New Yorkers. One of the questions was something like: Your definition of arriving is having a dishwasher. If the answer was yes, that was a point towards classifying yourself as a New Yorker. Now I have dishwasher and a walk-in closet so big I can actually hold my arms out and turn in a circle. I’ve arrived, and I can now find those pants that go with that jacket. For the record, I’ve arrived in DC, not New York. No matter, I couldn’t wait to stand in my closet.

I consider myself flexible and adaptable. I am an expert gear shifter. Boxes were unpacked and their contents organized within a week. I dealt with the change. I harangued the move into submission with my lists and schedules. But did I adjust? Well, yes, I adjusted.

I am much happier in the new apartment, though next time I would do it differently. I would take the Monday after the weekend of the move off from work and not feel guilty about it. I was exhausted all week. Was I completely unproductive? Of course not. If I’m not haranguing change with a list, I harangue myself. But it was not my model week. Poor performance will leave a greater impression than taking one day for yourself to adjust, reset, and refocus. Go ahead, and don’t feel guilty.