Tags

, , , ,

On a recent Friday I felt overcome by an uncharacteristic feeling of being settled. Yes, I recently started a new job that in its early stages seems to be a better fit than the last, if for  no other reason than it’s an advancement. It was the last day before a three-day weekend and I was looking forward to checking off pestering errands on my to-do list and taking time to write. But if I am not convinced I have found the niche I want to build my career around, why did I feel like where I was at that moment was good enough?

Accepting where I am without self-reproach – “Why am I not further up the career food chain?” – is not my gift. I often wish it was. But my apprehension about being overcome by the day-to-day mundane stirs the pot, making my angst to achieve what’s next rise to the top.

So on this afternoon, what was it I responding to? My pleasant cup of coffee, the impending weekend, or full acceptance of being where I was at that point of time? Or the better question, what propelled me to deconstruct good enough?

Acceptance of the moment does not signify surrendering future ambition.