“No problem, that’s what I’m here for,” responded an extremely cheerful customer service representative who recently helped me work through a problem.

I try to be agreeable to work with, I try to give my colleagues some slack (everyone has a bad day sometimes), I try not to take things personally, and I try to present information in a concise, helpful manner. But I don’t know if I’ve ever said to a colleague or customer, “That’s what I’m here for.”

What am I here for? The interpretation of this question can range from our purpose in the universe (if we believe we have a purpose) to what we thought we needed from the grocery store but forgot. How many times are we not “here” and not present because we’re lost somewhere between our contemplation of where we think we should be in a larger sense and where we are in the moment? How many times can we confidently say, “That’s what I’m here for,” satisfied for the time we are there without doubting our ability to transcend there and find another plateau we can aspire to transcend.