One of my dearest friends is a creative stuck in a 9-to-5 type job. She loves to write and dreams of creating a life for herself that allows her to write part-time while working as a mental health professional, also part-time, versus full-time as she does now. The trouble is the trouble we all face. “Day jobs”, those jobs that we do only out of necessity for income, take up the whole day. By the time we tend to life’s other necessities, there often isn’t much time for re-creating ourselves. When we finally get around to working on what we really want to do, it may feel like the last thing we want to do.

Perhaps because I am primarily interested in achieving my end goals instead of doing whatever happens to sound appealing to me in a given moment, I rarely consider what I’d most want to do. I tend to evaluate the options of how I spend my time based on outcomes versus wants. When a blog post needs to be written I sit down and write it, regardless of my mood. So when my creative friend was expressing her concern of the difficulty in doing what she believed she loved, I confessed that, “Yes, I enjoy writing Figuring Out Fulfillment and all of my other activities I’ve designed to hopefully lead to my eventual re-creation. But sometimes I’d rather be watching a movie – a non-serious movie.” She seemed relieved. She wasn’t alone.

Doing what we love isn’t always fun. Don’t let an expectation that it will be derail you from sticking to it.